Welcome to the Virtuosa Forum  

Go Back   Welcome to the Virtuosa Forum > Virtuosa General Forum > General Comments about Virtuosa
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
Old 10-01-2002, 09:38 AM   #1
Barman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Barman is off the scale
Ape

Is there an APE plugin in the works?

Also..I can't seem to find a way to change the size of the Album Art in the Currently Playing window. In one of the screen shots the album art looks larger than what i get.
Barman is offline IP: 207.54.100.25   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2002, 09:53 AM   #2
Giac
Wizard
 
Giac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 723
Giac is on a distinguished road
Dear Barman,

Thanks for your interest in Virtuosa.

What is APE?

To resize the Now Playing window, just click on the edge of the window and extend it. The image will be resized in steps.

Best
__________________
Giac
Giac is offline IP: 80.218.73.79   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2002, 01:34 PM   #3
Barman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Barman is off the scale
APE

I guess I should have said Monkey's Audio.
.ape is the file extension.
it's a lossless audio compression format.
Supported in Winamp & Media Jukebox plus plugins for numerous other players.
website:
http://www.monkeysaudio.com/

Also wondering if a DFX plugin is being planned...
website:
http://www.fxsound.com/
Barman is offline IP: 207.54.100.25   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 06:36 AM   #4
Giac
Wizard
 
Giac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 723
Giac is on a distinguished road
Dear Barman,

for the APE codec, we'll check. We feature both Microsoft's wma and Fraunhofer's mp3 codecs in Virtuosa. They are not lossless, but frankly very good. And they reach ratios above 1:10. Microsoft's codec is really fast.

For the DFX, we are currently considering an inclusion in our next release. What are the strong points you see for putting it in?

Best
__________________
Giac
Giac is offline IP: 80.218.72.44   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 02:19 PM   #5
Barman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Barman is off the scale
DFX

Don't get me wrong... I love Virtuosa, but it doesn't stack up sound wise against some other mp3 players.

It beats the default winamp sound quality...but when you add the MAD mp3 decoder and DFX it blows Virtuosa away.

Sonique's audio enlightenment decoder also sounds much better than Virtuosa.

Now, I realize Virtuosa is relatively young (and unfortunately unknown) compared to these programs and doesn't have the 3rd party plugin support that winamp benefits from. But I was wondering if you are in contact with 3rd Party Plugin developers like DFX and MAD and encouraging them to support Virtuosa.

Once the sound quality gets up there, with your amazing interface and visualizations, Virtuosa will leave the others in the dust.

PS: Having a problem with some variable bit rate mp3s. The time slider doesn't work. No matter where I drag it (forward or backward) the mp3 starts playing over again from the begining.

Thanks.
Barman is offline IP: 207.54.100.25   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 03:05 PM   #6
Giac
Wizard
 
Giac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 723
Giac is on a distinguished road
Dear Barman,

Do you have a link for the MAD mp3 decoder? DFX is nice, but is it really that good?

We are fixing the mp3 timer problem. It should be solved in the next release.

Thanks for the good word. The next release is coming and you will like it.

Best
__________________
Giac
Giac is offline IP: 80.218.77.50   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 03:47 PM   #7
Barman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Barman is off the scale
MAD link

Here is a link to a review of the MAD mp3 decoder:

http://www.mp3-converter.com/decode...udio_review.htm

It's not perfect... but is definately an improvement over most decoders. The review contains a link to the site for the source and is based on the winamp plugin.

In Virtuosa's options menu, on the audio tab, what does the "high quality" option mean in a technical sense. Is there support for 24bit output.

Thanks for your respones to my queries Giac.
Barman is offline IP: 24.71.223.143   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2002, 02:04 PM   #8
Giac
Wizard
 
Giac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 723
Giac is on a distinguished road
Cool

Dear Barman,

Frankly, the Fraunhofer encoder and decoder is the very best mp3 codec on the market. And we tested them *all* throroughfully. It is way better than the MAD one.

The "high quality" sets the best quality algorithms to compress the audio data in the Fraunhofer encoder. It is very CPU intensive, so you need a fast processor. The quality is better if you accept the waiting.

Best,
__________________
Giac
Giac is offline IP: 80.218.76.18   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-2009 FunVibes. All rights reserved worldwide